Skip navigation

Grails and Silver Apples tour the US on November 2008

Grails and Silver Apples tour the US on November 2008

Show playlist is here.

There was only one thing in my head as I woke up this morning: I hate waking up at 5:30 a.m. Well you see, it’s a good time for a show in the sense that you get a lot of commuters to listen to you. It’s really bad though if you love sleeping, and I am one of those people.

Having said that, there was also the added problem that I had not prepared at all for the show. So I just put on one of my favorite records of 2008, Grails“Take Refuge in Clean Living”. Grails are an amazingly prolific instrumental rock band from Portland, Oregon, and this record clocking at around 32 minutes is easily their most accessible and at the same time inspired moment. Taking a lot of ideas from middle eastern and oriental music and blending them with some ideas from the so called post-rock genre, Grails manage to create epic and atmospheric songs of the finest quality. Make sure to check them out if they tour near you. They are currently touring with Silver Apples.

Alright, what else was good today? I really, really like the Replikas from Turkey. Talk about psych rock and oriental melodies… These guys are the real thing! A listener called up and told me about this local Bay Area band called the Interstellar Grains. Highly recommended space rock. The best music to feed your mind on. What else… We currently have a record by this band called Irata, from Greensboro North Carolina. Excellent stuff. These guys love Pink Floyd, especially the David Gilmour style guitars, so check them out if you are fans of this genre. And then of course there’s Dead Meadow… Now these guys worship Black Sabbath and give a whole new meaning to the words stoner metal… Towards the end I switched gears a bit and started playing some punky stuff. Aside from Gang of Four and the New York Dolls, I also played this band called the Airfix Kits, a local band from Oakland. Excellent high energy punk taking a lot from the late 70s early 80s post-punk movement. I got to see them live…

I was thinking to myself aloud for a while, wondering what really is the reason that prog and postrock utilizes so many oriental melodies. A listener called up and explained to me that it has to do with the use of musical modes in oriental music, which makes their melodies sound less repetitive. I don’t really understand much about music (other than what I like or dislike), so any comments or ideas about this would be appreciated…

5 Comments

    • Ross
    • Posted November 6, 2008 at 2:15 pm
    • Permalink

    I know how much you love Silver Apples…

    “Oscillations / Oscillations / Electronic evocations / Of sound’s reality.”

    I still hate that damn record.

    • azymnis
    • Posted November 6, 2008 at 2:28 pm
    • Permalink

    Yeah it’s pretty bad… Especially that picture of them hanging out in the airplane cockpit!

    • Sophocles
    • Posted November 7, 2008 at 10:21 am
    • Permalink

    eisai theos adelfe!!

    • Katerina
    • Posted November 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm
    • Permalink

    Teleios tropos na ependyeis to xrono sou…se ayta pou sou aresoun. YES!!!!

  1. During last weeks Metal Conference, my friend Jeremy played a bunch of examples of metal bands from Indonesia that employ “oriential” scales, tones along with metal riffing. I can get you the names later.

    Re: psych and Eastern/Asiatic/Oriental tones see Popol Vuh’s “Singet, Denn Gesang Vertreibt Die Wolfe” from their “Coeur de Verre” album.


Leave a Reply

